Booklists


The New Yorker – Read
Join the New Yorker’s Book Talk, a dynamic new community of readers where you can discover new authors and genres plus excerpts, reviews and more.

Amazon.com — Best Books of the Century
Amazon, the world’s largest online bookseller, includes a list of the top 100 titles of their choice for the best fiction and nonfiction of the past century.

The Booklist Center
Links to more than 230 browsable booklists divided into more than 50 categories.

Booklist Editors’ Choice Winners
The list from GoodReads.

Evanston Public Library’s Readers’ Services
has great lists of fiction, nonfiction, adult and teen books recommended for readers by the librarians. There are book lists by topic, Readalikes and other Tools for Readers.

Fiction_L Booklists
Once available only to librarians, Fiction_L is now offered online by the librarians at the Morton Grove Public Library in Illinois. Lists focus on fiction books for teens, Gen Xers, and other adult readers.

Hungry Mind Review’s 100 Best 20th Century American Books
This theme-based book review magazine offers a list, chosen by a group of authors, of the 100 best books written since 1900 by American authors.

Modern Library: 100 Best Novels
This news-making list of 100 Best Novels was created by a group of writers, historians and critics. Because it contains few minority, women or contemporary authors, the list created controversy. For comparison the site includes an alternative list of the 100 Best Novels chosen by readers.

100 Favorite Mysteries of the Century
In 200 members of the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association looked back 100 years through the last century and compiled this list of favorites.

100 Great 20th Century Works of Fiction by Women
Feminista!, an online journal of art, literature and social commentary, created this list of 100 great works of fiction written by women during the last century. Here’s the same list from LibraryThing arranged alphabetically by title.

Read + Relax
Want a taste of reading recommended by Australian librarians? Check out Linc Tasmania’s genre and author lists and more, all from the State Library of Tasmania.

Best Top Romance Novels of All Time
he list is compliled from Amazons Bestsellers in Romance for the peoples view, from Romance Readers Top 100 Romance Novels for a Criteque View, And from the Best books From last 10 years lists. Each book has been rated at least 4 star by at least 75 readers.

Who Reads What? Celebrity Reading Lists
Favorite books of celebrities in all fields compiled by the Gardiner (ME) Public Library.

YALSA Booklists
The Young Adult Library Services division of the American Library Association lists its annual “Best Books” and “Quick Pick” choices for young adult/teen readers.

Readalikes


If You Like… from Hennepin County Public Library
Visit this Minnesota library site and use its search page to find good books to read. Allows readers to search for fiction titles by author or theme keyword.

ReadAlikes at Bookbrowse
BookBrowse is an online magazine for booklovers – it has a terrific read-a-like section as well as reviews, previews, “behind the book” backstories, author interviews, reading guides, and much more.